Singapore to have 7 long weekends in 2017


It’s out! The Ministry of Manpower has released the list of Singapore’s public holidays for next year – and there will be seven long weekends.

Two public holidays fall on a Friday:

  • Good Friday (Apr 14)
  • Hari Raya Haji (Sep 1)

Two fall on a Monday:

  • Labour Day (May 1)
  • Christmas Day (Dec 25)

Two holidays fall on a Sunday, so the following Monday will be a public holiday:

  • New Year’s Day (Jan 1)
  • Second day of Chinese New Year (Jan 29)
  • Hari Raya Puasa (Jun 25)

The ministry also confirmed that Deepavali will fall on Oct 18 next year.

The dates of the 11 gazetted public holidays for 2017 are as follows:

Source: Channel NewsAsia

Documenting the observations of working life and the lifestyle of the working adult, I scour the net for articles and offices for like-minded individuals to contribute to this blog.